Richard Alex Williams is interviewed by The Bee's Sam Stanton in the law offices of Victor Haltom on his first day of freedom after being acquitted for a 1996 murder on Nov. 2, 2015. Williams was freed after spending 19 years in jail. He went through three jury trials; the first ended with a hung jury, the second found him guilty but was tossed out and in the third he was found not guilty. He remained in custody for 24 hours before being released. Autumn Payne apayne@sacbee.com
Richard Alex Williams is interviewed by The Bee's Sam Stanton in the law offices of Victor Haltom on his first day of freedom after being acquitted for a 1996 murder on Nov. 2, 2015. Williams was freed after spending 19 years in jail. He went through three jury trials; the first ended with a hung jury, the second found him guilty but was tossed out and in the third he was found not guilty. He remained in custody for 24 hours before being released. Autumn Payne apayne@sacbee.com
Sacto 911

Sacto 911

Covering crime, police and courts in the Sacramento region

Crime - Sacto 911

Newly acquitted man looks back on 19 years in prison

November 04, 2015 4:28 PM

Comments

Videos

Sacto 911 Staff


Bill Lindelof
blindelof@sacbee.com
@Lindelofnews

Cathy Locke
clocke@sacbee.com

Nashelly Chavez
nchavez@sacbee.com
@nashellytweets

Jessica Hice
jhice@sacbee.com
@JesserPea

Darrell Smith
Superior Court
dvsmith@sacbee.com
@dvaughnsmith

More Sacto 911

Crimemapper

Send news tips

Sign up for breaking news alerts

Arrest Logs

Crime Q&A

Sacramento Bee reporter Cathy Locke answers your questions about crime news, trends and issues. Look up specific cases using Arrest Logs and Sacramento Superior Courts case database.

Submit your question