More Videos

'Run, Bernie, run,' San Francisco crowd chants 0:21

'Run, Bernie, run,' San Francisco crowd chants

Bernie Sanders thanks John McCain on health care in San Francisco 1:07

Bernie Sanders thanks John McCain on health care in San Francisco

'We know that this is just a start,' Assembly speaker says of housing bills 0:58

'We know that this is just a start,' Assembly speaker says of housing bills

'If we don't get started...we will have more than a crisis on our hands' 1:09

'If we don't get started...we will have more than a crisis on our hands'

Dianne Feinstein says patience needed with Trump 2:13

Dianne Feinstein says patience needed with Trump

California lawmakers tackle Donald Trump and student hunger in resolutions 1:37

California lawmakers tackle Donald Trump and student hunger in resolutions

Apartment construction takes off in midtown Sacramento 0:33

Apartment construction takes off in midtown Sacramento

Two men die in tandem skydiving accident near Lodi 0:22

Two men die in tandem skydiving accident near Lodi

Watch Sacramento bishop speak out against Trump's DACA cancellation 2:07

Watch Sacramento bishop speak out against Trump's DACA cancellation

Recreational weed is now legal in California. So what does that mean? 1:14

Recreational weed is now legal in California. So what does that mean?

  • Yes on 56 campaign argues for higher cigarette tax

    Proponents of a ballot measure to increase tobacco taxes by $2 are airing a TV ad explaining why the American Cancer Society, Cancer Action Network, American Lung Association and American Academy of Pediatrics support Proposition 56.

Proponents of a ballot measure to increase tobacco taxes by $2 are airing a TV ad explaining why the American Cancer Society, Cancer Action Network, American Lung Association and American Academy of Pediatrics support Proposition 56. Yes on 56 - Save Lives CA
Proponents of a ballot measure to increase tobacco taxes by $2 are airing a TV ad explaining why the American Cancer Society, Cancer Action Network, American Lung Association and American Academy of Pediatrics support Proposition 56. Yes on 56 - Save Lives CA
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

$2 cigarette tax hike: Doctors and hospitals fight tobacco industry

September 13, 2016 4:00 AM

Comments

Advertising

Catherine Bettar
916-321-1083
cbettar@sacbee.com

Capitol Alert staff


Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert