Tobacco giants Philip Morris and R.J. Reynolds have enlisted a Long Beach public school teacher to convince voters to reject a $2 cigarette tax increase on the November ballot. But The Bee finds that it's a stretch to say the initiative “cheats schools of $600 million a year.” No on Prop 56
Tobacco giants Philip Morris and R.J. Reynolds have enlisted a Long Beach public school teacher to convince voters to reject a $2 cigarette tax increase on the November ballot. But The Bee finds that it's a stretch to say the initiative “cheats schools of $600 million a year.” No on Prop 56
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Capitol Alert

October 07, 2016 11:59 AM

Hispanic chamber not opposing tobacco tax hike after all

Suggested for you

Comments

Capitol Alert staff


Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Dan Walters
columnist
dwalters@sacbee.com
@waltersbee

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert

Editor's Choice Videos