More Videos

'Run, Bernie, run,' San Francisco crowd chants 0:21

'Run, Bernie, run,' San Francisco crowd chants

Gavin Newsom: 'No reason to wait around' on universal health care in California 1:02

Gavin Newsom: 'No reason to wait around' on universal health care in California

Two men die in tandem skydiving accident near Lodi 0:22

Two men die in tandem skydiving accident near Lodi

California Nurses Association protests shelving of single-payer health care bill 1:27

California Nurses Association protests shelving of single-payer health care bill

Protesters disrupt Republican Congressman Tom McClintock town hall 1:23

Protesters disrupt Republican Congressman Tom McClintock town hall

'If we don't get started...we will have more than a crisis on our hands' 1:09

'If we don't get started...we will have more than a crisis on our hands'

'We know that this is just a start,' Assembly speaker says of housing bills 0:58

'We know that this is just a start,' Assembly speaker says of housing bills

What happens to your brain on opioids 2:44

What happens to your brain on opioids

Things get a little rowdy at troubled Northern California water district 1:19

Things get a little rowdy at troubled Northern California water district

How bots are taking over our lives 1:41

How bots are taking over our lives

  • 6 things to know about Calexit – the plan for California to secede from the U.S.

    This video describes a proposal to allow California to split from the United States.

This video describes a proposal to allow California to split from the United States. Sharon Okada The Sacramento Bee
This video describes a proposal to allow California to split from the United States. Sharon Okada The Sacramento Bee
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Wanna get away? Calexit secession plan possible, but faces huge hurdles

December 01, 2016 12:01 AM

Comments

Advertising

Catherine Bettar
916-321-1083
cbettar@sacbee.com

Capitol Alert staff


Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert