More Videos

'Run, Bernie, run,' San Francisco crowd chants 0:21

'Run, Bernie, run,' San Francisco crowd chants

Bernie Sanders thanks John McCain on health care in San Francisco 1:07

Bernie Sanders thanks John McCain on health care in San Francisco

Two men die in tandem skydiving accident near Lodi 0:22

Two men die in tandem skydiving accident near Lodi

Here's how California's sanctuary state bill works 1:26

Here's how California's sanctuary state bill works

Bernie Sanders supporters urge 2020 presidential run 1:38

Bernie Sanders supporters urge 2020 presidential run

California electors want investigation into Russian hacking 1:45

California electors want investigation into Russian hacking

Dogs descend on California Capitol to lobby for crackdown on puppy mills 1:10

Dogs descend on California Capitol to lobby for crackdown on puppy mills

Bernie Sanders makes 2016 push for drug-pricing measure 1:09

Bernie Sanders makes 2016 push for drug-pricing measure

Things get a little rowdy at troubled Northern California water district 1:19

Things get a little rowdy at troubled Northern California water district

Farm-to-Fork draws large crowds at Capitol Mall 0:39

Farm-to-Fork draws large crowds at Capitol Mall

  • Robert Terry explains why he changed his mind on not attending college

    Robert Terry, 18, graduated from Sheldon High School in May. He was unsure about continuing his education, but he will start at Sacramento City College next month, possibly studying to become a nurse.

Robert Terry, 18, graduated from Sheldon High School in May. He was unsure about continuing his education, but he will start at Sacramento City College next month, possibly studying to become a nurse. Alexei Koseff The Sacramento Bee
Robert Terry, 18, graduated from Sheldon High School in May. He was unsure about continuing his education, but he will start at Sacramento City College next month, possibly studying to become a nurse. Alexei Koseff The Sacramento Bee
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Where have California’s black college students gone?

December 26, 2016 4:00 AM

Comments

Advertising

Catherine Bettar
916-321-1083
cbettar@sacbee.com

Capitol Alert staff


Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert