Topo Padilla, president of the Golden State Bail Agents Association, here standing in front of the Sacramento County jail on Thursday, said monetary stakes are the best way to ensure that someone appears in court after being released. A pair of lawmakers is pursuing legislation this session to overhaul bail.
Topo Padilla, president of the Golden State Bail Agents Association, here standing in front of the Sacramento County jail on Thursday, said monetary stakes are the best way to ensure that someone appears in court after being released. A pair of lawmakers is pursuing legislation this session to overhaul bail. Randall Benton rbenton@sacbee.com
Topo Padilla, president of the Golden State Bail Agents Association, here standing in front of the Sacramento County jail on Thursday, said monetary stakes are the best way to ensure that someone appears in court after being released. A pair of lawmakers is pursuing legislation this session to overhaul bail. Randall Benton rbenton@sacbee.com
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Capitol Alert

February 04, 2017 12:01 AM

California considers an end to bail: ‘We’re punishing people simply for being poor’

Comments

Videos

Capitol Alert staff


Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Dan Walters
columnist
dwalters@sacbee.com
@waltersbee

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert

Editor's Choice Videos