Estellah Aguirre, 2, at her home in Calexico, Calif., has struggled with asthma since she was an infant according to her mother Edna Ruiz. In California’s Imperial Valley, which stretches across the southeastern part of the state, about 25 percent of the county’s 170,000 residents live in poverty. Even worse, the county had more than double the state’s rate of hospitalizations in 2014 for children, between 5 and 17, with asthma, according to state public health figures.
Estellah Aguirre, 2, at her home in Calexico, Calif., has struggled with asthma since she was an infant according to her mother Edna Ruiz. In California’s Imperial Valley, which stretches across the southeastern part of the state, about 25 percent of the county’s 170,000 residents live in poverty. Even worse, the county had more than double the state’s rate of hospitalizations in 2014 for children, between 5 and 17, with asthma, according to state public health figures. Hilary Sloane Photography Hilary Sloane
Estellah Aguirre, 2, at her home in Calexico, Calif., has struggled with asthma since she was an infant according to her mother Edna Ruiz. In California’s Imperial Valley, which stretches across the southeastern part of the state, about 25 percent of the county’s 170,000 residents live in poverty. Even worse, the county had more than double the state’s rate of hospitalizations in 2014 for children, between 5 and 17, with asthma, according to state public health figures. Hilary Sloane Photography Hilary Sloane
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

12,000 Imperial County children already have asthma. Will Salton Sea make it worse?

March 24, 2017 3:51 PM

Comments

More Videos

  • A look at widespread fire devastation in Santa Rosa

    Sonoma County Supervisor James Gore surveys devastation of the Santa Rosa fires in his district on Oct. 14, 2017. "This just looks like a nuclear blast."

Advertising



Catherine Bettar
916-321-1083
cbettar@sacbee.com

Capitol Alert staff



Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
Lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert