At age 15, Sara was required to marry a man 13 years older than her by a religious cult. She visited the California Capitol on Tuesday, May 9, 2017, and spoke in support of SB 273 by Sen. Jerry Hill, which requires more rigorous judicial screening of under-18 brides and grooms. Sara testified at the hearing on the bill, but was identified only by her first name publicly because she feared reprisals from the religious cult. Taryn Luna tluna@sacbee.com
At age 15, Sara was required to marry a man 13 years older than her by a religious cult. She visited the California Capitol on Tuesday, May 9, 2017, and spoke in support of SB 273 by Sen. Jerry Hill, which requires more rigorous judicial screening of under-18 brides and grooms. Sara testified at the hearing on the bill, but was identified only by her first name publicly because she feared reprisals from the religious cult. Taryn Luna tluna@sacbee.com
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Capitol Alert

Under-18 marriage ban weakened after ACLU opposes

May 09, 2017 5:29 PM

Comments

Videos

Advertising

Catherine Bettar
916-321-1083
cbettar@sacbee.com

Capitol Alert staff


Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert