Officer Julie Jensen, right, stands with Edy, a 15-month-old Belgian Malinois, and officer David Foote, left, holds Teno, a German Shepherd during their graduation ceremony at the California Highway Patrol academy in 2015. The Assembly’s proposed budget provides retired CHP police dogs with a $2,000 retirement plan.
Officer Julie Jensen, right, stands with Edy, a 15-month-old Belgian Malinois, and officer David Foote, left, holds Teno, a German Shepherd during their graduation ceremony at the California Highway Patrol academy in 2015. The Assembly’s proposed budget provides retired CHP police dogs with a $2,000 retirement plan. Randy Pench rpench@sacbee.com
Officer Julie Jensen, right, stands with Edy, a 15-month-old Belgian Malinois, and officer David Foote, left, holds Teno, a German Shepherd during their graduation ceremony at the California Highway Patrol academy in 2015. The Assembly’s proposed budget provides retired CHP police dogs with a $2,000 retirement plan. Randy Pench rpench@sacbee.com
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Capitol Alert

June 01, 2017 4:51 PM

In California, even some dogs might get state pensions

Suggested for you

Comments

Videos

Capitol Alert staff


Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Dan Walters
columnist
dwalters@sacbee.com
@waltersbee

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert

Editor's Choice Videos