Bob Weiss is comforted by Richard Martinez during a Capitol press conference regarding the “gun violence restraining order” bill on Aug. 27, 2014. Weiss and Martinez both lost children during the Isla Vista shooting this year and have since campaigned for gun control and mental health support nationally.
Bob Weiss is comforted by Richard Martinez during a Capitol press conference regarding the “gun violence restraining order” bill on Aug. 27, 2014. Weiss and Martinez both lost children during the Isla Vista shooting this year and have since campaigned for gun control and mental health support nationally. Brian Nguyen The Sacramento Bee file
Bob Weiss is comforted by Richard Martinez during a Capitol press conference regarding the “gun violence restraining order” bill on Aug. 27, 2014. Weiss and Martinez both lost children during the Isla Vista shooting this year and have since campaigned for gun control and mental health support nationally. Brian Nguyen The Sacramento Bee file
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Capitol Alert

See where California is taking guns with restraining orders

August 01, 2017 7:00 AM

Comments

Videos

Advertising

Catherine Bettar
916-321-1083
cbettar@sacbee.com

Capitol Alert staff


Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert