Students Matter founder David Welch, an entrepreneur from Silicon Valley, comments on the Vergara v. California verdict in Los Angeles last June. A judge struck down tenure and other job protections for California's public school teachers as unconstitutional, saying such laws harm students, especially poor and minority ones, by saddling them with bad teachers. The ruling is on appeal.
Students Matter founder David Welch, an entrepreneur from Silicon Valley, comments on the Vergara v. California verdict in Los Angeles last June. A judge struck down tenure and other job protections for California's public school teachers as unconstitutional, saying such laws harm students, especially poor and minority ones, by saddling them with bad teachers. The ruling is on appeal. Damian Dovarganes The Associated Press
Students Matter founder David Welch, an entrepreneur from Silicon Valley, comments on the Vergara v. California verdict in Los Angeles last June. A judge struck down tenure and other job protections for California's public school teachers as unconstitutional, saying such laws harm students, especially poor and minority ones, by saddling them with bad teachers. The ruling is on appeal. Damian Dovarganes The Associated Press
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Activists look to courts to weaken grip of California teachers union

May 16, 2015 11:00 AM

Comments

Advertising

Catherine Bettar
916-321-1083
cbettar@sacbee.com

Capitol Alert staff


Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert