Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

FPPC posts names of campaign treasurers with multiple enforcement actions

07/18/2014 3:25 PM

07/18/2014 3:27 PM

California’s political ethics agency has begun posting the names of campaign treasurers who have repeatedly run afoul of state rules, with the goal of alerting candidates and party officials.

The action by the Fair Political Practices Commission stems from a recommendation following the arrest of former campaign treasurer Kinde Durkee, who pleaded guilty in March 2012 to stealing at least $7 million from Democratic candidates, party committees and various nonprofits in the largest campaign embezzlement case ever prosecuted. Durkee was sentenced to eight years in prison in November 2012 and ordered to pay $10.5 million in restitution.

Durkee had had repeated run-ins with the FPPC before her September 2011 arrest. Some of her victims complained they had no inkling of those red flags and would have switched treasurers if they had.

“The purpose of this is so people can have some place where they can find treasurers who have had frequent enforcement actions,” Gary S. Winuk, chief of the FPPC’s enforcement division, said of the new site.

As of Friday, the commission web page listed three treasurers besides Durkee who have been subject to two or more enforcement actions by the commission: Jane Leiderman of Los Angeles, Gary Crummit of Long Beach, and Lysa Ray of Orange County.

Capitol Alert staff

Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

David Siders
Brown administration
dsiders@sacbee.com
@davidsiders

Christopher Cadelago
California politics and health care
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Laurel Rosenhall
Legislature, lobbying, higher education
lrosenhall@sacbee.com
@LaurelRosenhall

Jeremy B. White
Legislature
jwhite@sacbee.com
@capitolalert

Alexei Koseff
Insider Edition editor
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

 

Join the Discussion

The Sacramento Bee is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service