Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Jerry Brown signs bill limiting full-contact football practice in California

07/21/2014 1:28 PM

10/08/2014 12:07 PM

Gov. Jerry Brown has signed legislation limiting full-contact football practice for California teenagers, his office announced Monday.

The legislation comes amid increasing concern about brain injuries in football. Assembly Bill 2127, by Assemblyman Ken Cooley, D-Rancho Cordova, prohibits middle school and high school football teams from holding full-contact practices during the off-season and limits them to no more than two full-contact practices per week during the preseason and regular season.

Nineteen other states have banned full-contact high school football practices in the off-season, according to a legislative analysis.

Brown signed the bill without comment, one of 23 measures the Democratic governor announced signing Monday. Among other bills, Brown signed legislation allowing underage winemaking students to taste alcohol.

Assembly Bill 1989, by Assemblyman Wesley Chesbro, D-Arcata, creates an exemption to California's prohibition on furnishing alcohol to minors, allowing 18-, 19- and 20-year-old students in enology and brewing science to taste alcohol as part of their classes.

Capitol Alert staff

Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

David Siders
Brown administration
dsiders@sacbee.com
@davidsiders

Christopher Cadelago
California politics and health care
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Laurel Rosenhall
Legislature, lobbying, higher education
lrosenhall@sacbee.com
@LaurelRosenhall

Jeremy B. White
Legislature
jwhite@sacbee.com
@capitolalert

Alexei Koseff
Insider Edition editor
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

 

Join the Discussion

The Sacramento Bee is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service