A statue of Fray Junipero Serra, the founder of The California Missions, is outside the Mission San Luis Obispo de Tolosa in San Luis Obispo, photographed June 20, 2012.
A statue of Fray Junipero Serra, the founder of The California Missions, is outside the Mission San Luis Obispo de Tolosa in San Luis Obispo, photographed June 20, 2012. Autumn Cruz acruz@sacbee.com
A statue of Fray Junipero Serra, the founder of The California Missions, is outside the Mission San Luis Obispo de Tolosa in San Luis Obispo, photographed June 20, 2012. Autumn Cruz acruz@sacbee.com
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Pope’s visit delays vote to ditch Junipero Serra statue

July 02, 2015 11:13 AM

UPDATED July 02, 2015 11:43 AM

Comments

More Videos

  • ‘We know there are mountains behind that line of smog,’ Cristina Garcia says

    Assemblywoman Cristina Garcia talks about her environmental record at UN climate discussions in Bonn, Germany, on Saturday, Nov. 11, 2017.

Advertising



Catherine Bettar
916-321-1083
cbettar@sacbee.com

Capitol Alert staff



Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
Lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert