Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

California lawmakers vote to urge Washington Redskins name change

08/18/2014 2:40 PM

08/19/2014 1:45 PM

California lawmakers on Monday joined a national chorus urging a name change for the Washington Redskins football team.

While Redskins owner Dan Snyder has adamantly resisted such a change, offering slim odds for swift action, Native Americans and others have decried the team’s current name as an offensive racial slur. President Barack Obama has suggested a switch would be appropriate, and the U.S. Patent Office canceled the team’s trademarks for being “disparaging to Native Americans.”

Assembly members took up the campaign on Monday, passing by a 49-5 vote a resolution urging the National Football League “to adhere to the wishes of the millions of people who have joined Indian Country in urging that they change the team mascot.” California has the largest Native American population of any state.

“It’s very hurtful, it’s very hateful to native peoples of this country,” said Assemblyman Luis Alejo, D-Watsonville.

A handful of Republicans voted against Assembly Concurrent Resolution 168. Assemblyman Tim Donnelly, R-Twin Peaks, called it a waste of the Legislature’s time.

“Prior to this being brought public by politicians there had never been a single complaint on record,” Donnelly said of the team name. “For us to stand here and debate the names of football teams so that we as Americans who treasure the freedom of speech can now have the right to not be offended, is offensive.”

Capitol Alert staff

Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

David Siders
Brown administration
dsiders@sacbee.com
@davidsiders

Christopher Cadelago
California politics and health care
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Laurel Rosenhall
Legislature, lobbying, higher education
lrosenhall@sacbee.com
@LaurelRosenhall

Jeremy B. White
Legislature
jwhite@sacbee.com
@capitolalert

Alexei Koseff
Insider Edition editor
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

 

Join the Discussion

The Sacramento Bee is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service