Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Ben Hueso, other lawmakers, photographed drinking on Capitol balcony before DUI arrest

08/22/2014 11:05 AM

08/22/2014 12:48 PM

Hours before state Sen. Ben Hueso, D-San Diego, was arrested on Friday morning on suspicion of driving under the influence of alcohol, he and four other lawmakers were photographed reveling on a Capitol balcony, drinks in hand.

In a tweet later deleted from her account, Assemblywoman Lorena Gonzalez, D-San Diego, wrote “Yes.... Loving my Latino Caucus boys...” and attached a photograph of Hueso with Assemblyman Luis Alejo, D-Watsonville, Assemblyman Roger Hernández, D-West Covina, state Sen. Ricardo Lara, D-Bell Gardens and Assemblyman V. Manuel Pérez, D-Coachella.

Hueso appears in the middle of the photograph, his shirt partially untucked. He is holding a glass in his right hand, with his left arm around Lara.

Hueso was later arrested by the California Highway Patrol, and the Sacramento County jail’s website listed him as being booked at 3:27 a.m.

Gonzalez posted the photo on Twitter at 11:19. Latino Caucus spokesman Roger Salazar said the caucus dinner at the Il Fornaio restaurant ended around 9 p.m.

Gonzalez was on the Assembly floor early Friday and could not be reached for comment.

Hernández, one of the lawmakers standing with Hueso in the photograph on Thursday night, was found not guilty of driving under the influence by a Contra Costa County jury in 2012. He declined to comment about the photo.

Capitol Alert staff

Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

David Siders
Brown administration
dsiders@sacbee.com
@davidsiders

Christopher Cadelago
California politics and health care
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Laurel Rosenhall
Legislature, lobbying, higher education
lrosenhall@sacbee.com
@LaurelRosenhall

Jeremy B. White
Legislature
jwhite@sacbee.com
@capitolalert

Alexei Koseff
Insider Edition editor
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

 

Join the Discussion

The Sacramento Bee is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service