Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Covered California chief Peter Lee gets $52K bonus

08/22/2014 2:00 PM

08/22/2014 2:01 PM

Peter V. Lee, the head of the state’s health insurance exchange, was awarded a 20-percent bonus for his efforts in launching the federal program in California.

The performance-based award, which pencils out to $52,528 on top of his base salary of $262,644, was disclosed at the exchange’s board meeting Thursday. Covered California board member Diana Dooley said officials would look at possibly adjusting Lee’s base pay in the coming months.

The bonus “is some way to show our recognition,” Dooley told Lee. “And, thanks Peter for the leadership you’ve provided and the good work you’ve done.”

It comes after the agency enrolled more than 1.2 million people in private health insurance plans and represents Lee’s first bonus since he took the helm three years ago. Last month, Lee unveiled a better-than-expected 4-percent average rate increase for the coming year. He has been credited with being the top guide and pitchman for California’s relatively smooth handling of the Affordable Care Act.

A former head of the nonprofit Pacific Business Group on Health, Lee has spent most of his career working on healthcare quality and access issues. Despite his early successes at the exchange, he has acknowledged that officials could have done a better job out of the gate in outreach and enrollment of Latinos.

The bonus came on the same day that officials announced a pair of personnel decisions. Amy Palmer, a former associate secretary of external affairs for the California Health and Human Services Agency, will serve as director of Covered California’s Office of Communications and Public Relations. She will earn a salary of $160,000 a year.

Kirk Whelan, a veteran of Kaiser Permanente, was named the exchange’s director of the Individual and Small Business Sales Division. He will make $170,000.

Capitol Alert staff

Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

David Siders
Brown administration
dsiders@sacbee.com
@davidsiders

Christopher Cadelago
California politics and health care
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Laurel Rosenhall
Legislature, lobbying, higher education
lrosenhall@sacbee.com
@LaurelRosenhall

Jeremy B. White
Legislature
jwhite@sacbee.com
@capitolalert

Alexei Koseff
Insider Edition editor
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

 

Join the Discussion

The Sacramento Bee is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service