Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Ride-sharing companies agree to California deal on regulation

08/27/2014 12:35 PM

08/27/2014 12:59 PM

Lawmakers, Gov. Jerry Brown and ride-sharing companies have reached a deal on California legislation upping insurance requirements for the emerging companies such as Lyft and Uber.

“This is the final product,” said Assemblywoman Susan Bonilla, D-Concord, author of the regulation bill. “We have the administration’s support on the bill.”

Both Uber and Lyft reversed to support the bill, Lyft heralding a deal struck under the auspices of Brown and Senate leaders.

“Policymakers who want to ensure the future of ridesharing as a safe, convenient and affordable transportation alternative in California should support this compromise,” a Lyft floor alert states.

Ride-sharing allows drivers to use their personal cars to transport customers for a fee. As the new model has begun displacing taxis and other traditional car services companies, lawmakers and the insurance industry have sought to have ride-sharing companies carry more comprehensive – and more expensive – liability insurance.

Potentially affected firms like Uber and Lyft mounted a strenuous opposition campaign, warning that Sacramento is stifling innovation.

But organizers canceled a planned Wednesday rally at the Capitol as Bonilla accepted amendments lowering the mandated value of insurance from $500,000 to $200,000 when drivers are cruising without passengers.

AB 2293 would still alter when parent companies must cover their drivers, expanding the standard to include times when drivers have turned in an application allowing them to take on passengers but have not yet accepted ride requests. When a driver has accepted a request or picked up a passenger, AB 2293 would require $1 million worth of insurance.

“In the last few days, the debate was definitely over the amount,” Bonilla said.

Editor’s Note: This story was updated at 2:49 p.m. to reflect the ride-sharing companies’ agreement on the bill.

Capitol Alert staff

Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

David Siders
Brown administration
dsiders@sacbee.com
@davidsiders

Christopher Cadelago
California politics and health care
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Laurel Rosenhall
Legislature, lobbying, higher education
lrosenhall@sacbee.com
@LaurelRosenhall

Jeremy B. White
Legislature
jwhite@sacbee.com
@capitolalert

Alexei Koseff
Insider Edition editor
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

 

Join the Discussion

The Sacramento Bee is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service