Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

‘Job killer’ wage recovery bill fails in California Senate

08/28/2014 8:08 PM

10/08/2014 12:16 PM

An effort to help workers recover back wages by allowing them to slap liens on their employers’ property failed Thursday in the California Senate when numerous Democrats withheld their votes.

The failure of Assembly Bill 2416 demonstrated the power of the California Chamber of Commerce, which had labeled the measure a “job killer.” Employers argued the bill would have launched costly and unfair legal battles. Labor unions who backed the bill said it would solve a current problem, where filing claims for stolen wages can take more than a year, giving employers the chance to close shop.

“AB 2416 provides workers who are victims of wage theft with an avenue to claim the wages they are rightfully owed,” said Sen. Ricardo Lara, D-Bell Gardens, as he presented the bill by Assemblyman Mark Stone on the Senate floor.

As Lara spoke, workers from the SEIU union watched from the gallery above. The bill failed when it received only 13 yes votes, leaving the measure eight votes short of passage. It is eligible for reconsideration on Friday.

Capitol Alert staff

Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

David Siders
Brown administration
dsiders@sacbee.com
@davidsiders

Christopher Cadelago
California politics and health care
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Laurel Rosenhall
Legislature, lobbying, higher education
lrosenhall@sacbee.com
@LaurelRosenhall

Jeremy B. White
Legislature
jwhite@sacbee.com
@capitolalert

Alexei Koseff
Insider Edition editor
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

 

Join the Discussion

The Sacramento Bee is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service