Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Federal marshals conduct ‘till tap’ at Capitol deli

08/29/2014 2:32 PM

08/29/2014 2:33 PM

A popular eatery inside the state Capitol building was closed Friday after the U.S. Marshals Service effected what is known as a “till tap,” taking money from the cash register to satisfy a court order.

Deputy U.S. Marshall Frank Newsom said two agents seized money at O! Deli, on the 6th floor of the Capitol building, without incident late Thursday afternoon or evening.

Newsom said he did not know the nature of the court order or how much money was seized.

A union, Unite Here Local 49, applied for a written statement of judgment for $22,907 against the restaurant’s Dam Khan a day before the till tap, according to court filings.

The union had previously obtained two arbitration awards in a grievance arising from the termination of two union employees from the restaurant.

Khan could not be reached Friday for comment.

A sign on the door of the restaurant, which is popular with legislative staff, said it would remain closed “until further notice due to a personal emergency.”

O! Deli has contracted with the Assembly Rules Committee and the Senate Rules Committee since 2007 to operate the 6th floor cafeteria. The restaurant pays 0.5 percent of their sales in rent.

Call David Siders, Bee Capitol Bureau, (916) 321-1215. Follow him on Twitter @davidsiders. Jim Miller of The Bee Capitol Bureau contributed to this report.

Capitol Alert staff

Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

David Siders
Brown administration
dsiders@sacbee.com
@davidsiders

Christopher Cadelago
California politics and health care
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Laurel Rosenhall
Legislature, lobbying, higher education
lrosenhall@sacbee.com
@LaurelRosenhall

Jeremy B. White
Legislature
jwhite@sacbee.com
@capitolalert

Alexei Koseff
Insider Edition editor
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

 

Join the Discussion

The Sacramento Bee is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service