Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

California political ad disclosure bill pulled

08/29/2014 5:11 PM

08/29/2014 5:12 PM

An effort to require political advertisements to display their top donors stalled in the final hours of the legislative session Friday after its supporters said it didn’t have the backing needed to earn passage.

In a joint statement, Sen. Mark Leno, D-San Francisco, Assembly Speaker Toni Atkins, D-San Diego, and Sen. Jerry Hill, D-San Mateo, said they would not have been able to muster the two-thirds support needed to amend the Political Reform Act.

“Our work to help ensure that voters are able to make fully-informed decisions at the ballot box clearly is not yet done,” Leno said in a statement. “I am disappointed we weren’t able to send this legislation to the Governor this year, but in this process, an even stronger coalition has emerged to keep the issue and movement alive. I look forward to working with Speaker Atkins, Sen. Hill and the California Clean Money Campaign as we redouble our commitment to finding common ground that will ultimately prove successful for this cause, which is so fundamental to our democracy.”

Senate Bill 52 would have required the three largest funders of TV and print advertisements, and the two largest donors of radio ads and automated calls, to be clearly labeled. Currently, groups are able to use often-ambiguous committee names.

Capitol Alert staff

Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

David Siders
Brown administration
dsiders@sacbee.com
@davidsiders

Christopher Cadelago
California politics and health care
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Laurel Rosenhall
Legislature, lobbying, higher education
lrosenhall@sacbee.com
@LaurelRosenhall

Jeremy B. White
Legislature
jwhite@sacbee.com
@capitolalert

Alexei Koseff
Insider Edition editor
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

 

Join the Discussion

The Sacramento Bee is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service