Dr. Michael Amster, a pain management specialist in Fairfield, is in favor of assisted-death legislation. Urging lawmakers to pass SB 128, Amster sees it as a personal choice and autonomy in health care, rather than as physicians assisting patients to commit suicide, as some opponents have framed it.
Dr. Michael Amster, a pain management specialist in Fairfield, is in favor of assisted-death legislation. Urging lawmakers to pass SB 128, Amster sees it as a personal choice and autonomy in health care, rather than as physicians assisting patients to commit suicide, as some opponents have framed it. Lezlie Sterling lsterling@sacbee.com
Dr. Michael Amster, a pain management specialist in Fairfield, is in favor of assisted-death legislation. Urging lawmakers to pass SB 128, Amster sees it as a personal choice and autonomy in health care, rather than as physicians assisting patients to commit suicide, as some opponents have framed it. Lezlie Sterling lsterling@sacbee.com
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Capitol Alert

California’s controversial assisted-death bill divides doctors

July 06, 2015 4:15 PM

Comments

Videos

Capitol Alert staff


Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Dan Walters
columnist
dwalters@sacbee.com
@waltersbee

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert