Eddie Miller holds a Confederate flag in front of the statue and tomb of Nathan Bedford Forrest, rebel general, slave trader and early Ku Klux Klan member, during a celebration of Forrest's 194th birthday on July 13 at Health Sciences Park in Memphis, Tenn.
Eddie Miller holds a Confederate flag in front of the statue and tomb of Nathan Bedford Forrest, rebel general, slave trader and early Ku Klux Klan member, during a celebration of Forrest's 194th birthday on July 13 at Health Sciences Park in Memphis, Tenn. Mike Brown The Commercial Appeal
Eddie Miller holds a Confederate flag in front of the statue and tomb of Nathan Bedford Forrest, rebel general, slave trader and early Ku Klux Klan member, during a celebration of Forrest's 194th birthday on July 13 at Health Sciences Park in Memphis, Tenn. Mike Brown The Commercial Appeal
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

California bill banning Confederate names clears committee

July 14, 2015 10:49 AM

UPDATED July 14, 2015 10:00 PM

Comments

More Videos

  • ‘We know there are mountains behind that line of smog,’ Cristina Garcia says

    Assemblywoman Cristina Garcia talks about her environmental record at UN climate discussions in Bonn, Germany, on Saturday, Nov. 11, 2017.

Advertising



Catherine Bettar
916-321-1083
cbettar@sacbee.com

Capitol Alert staff



Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
Lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert