The Sacramento Metropolitan Fire District responds to a 430-acre grass fire in the Elverta area, Monday, July 27, 2015.
The Sacramento Metropolitan Fire District responds to a 430-acre grass fire in the Elverta area, Monday, July 27, 2015. Lezlie Sterling lsterling@sacbee.com
The Sacramento Metropolitan Fire District responds to a 430-acre grass fire in the Elverta area, Monday, July 27, 2015. Lezlie Sterling lsterling@sacbee.com
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

California fires lead Gov. Brown to call state of emergency

July 31, 2015 04:31 PM

UPDATED August 02, 2015 08:48 AM

Comments

More Videos

‘We know there are mountains behind that line of smog,’ Cristina Garcia says 1:23

‘We know there are mountains behind that line of smog,’ Cristina Garcia says

A look at the #MeToo movement inside California's Capitol 1:19

A look at the #MeToo movement inside California's Capitol

World needs to get off coal, Jerry Brown says 0:21

World needs to get off coal, Jerry Brown says

Assessor's Office managers got bigger tax reductions than neighbors in these neighborhoods 1:09

Assessor's Office managers got bigger tax reductions than neighbors in these neighborhoods

California's public pension crisis is bad and getting worse 1:45

California's public pension crisis is bad and getting worse

Jerry Brown: Raising minimum wage moral, though 'may not make sense' 0:51

Jerry Brown: Raising minimum wage moral, though 'may not make sense'

See how much California's gas tax will rise through 2020 2:11

See how much California's gas tax will rise through 2020

See how sea-level rise could affect the San Francisco Bay Area 0:52

See how sea-level rise could affect the San Francisco Bay Area

Jerry Brown is bringing guest books to California 2:31

Jerry Brown is bringing guest books to California

'What are we going to do with people who no longer have a home?' 1:19

'What are we going to do with people who no longer have a home?'

  • ‘We know there are mountains behind that line of smog,’ Cristina Garcia says

    Assemblywoman Cristina Garcia talks about her environmental record at UN climate discussions in Bonn, Germany, on Saturday, Nov. 11, 2017.

Advertising



Catherine Bettar
916-321-1083
cbettar@sacbee.com

Capitol Alert staff



Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
Lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert