Gov. Edmund G. Brown Jr. listens to Senate President Pro Tem Kevin de León with Assembly Speaker Toni Atkins, not shown, announce they will abandon efforts this year to require a 50 percent reduction in petroleum use in motor vehicles by 2030 at the State Capitol Wednesday, Sept. 9, 2015 in Sacramento, Calif. Brown said other elements of Senate Bill 350 remain intact and that the bill preserves the state Air Resources Board existing power to make regulations that reduce emissions.
Gov. Edmund G. Brown Jr. listens to Senate President Pro Tem Kevin de León with Assembly Speaker Toni Atkins, not shown, announce they will abandon efforts this year to require a 50 percent reduction in petroleum use in motor vehicles by 2030 at the State Capitol Wednesday, Sept. 9, 2015 in Sacramento, Calif. Brown said other elements of Senate Bill 350 remain intact and that the bill preserves the state Air Resources Board existing power to make regulations that reduce emissions. Paul Kitagaki Jr. pkitagaki@sacbee.com
Gov. Edmund G. Brown Jr. listens to Senate President Pro Tem Kevin de León with Assembly Speaker Toni Atkins, not shown, announce they will abandon efforts this year to require a 50 percent reduction in petroleum use in motor vehicles by 2030 at the State Capitol Wednesday, Sept. 9, 2015 in Sacramento, Calif. Brown said other elements of Senate Bill 350 remain intact and that the bill preserves the state Air Resources Board existing power to make regulations that reduce emissions. Paul Kitagaki Jr. pkitagaki@sacbee.com
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Capitol Alert

September 09, 2015 5:22 PM

Jerry Brown, Kevin de Leon abandon legislative push to require 50 percent cut in gasoline use

Suggested for you

Comments

Videos

Capitol Alert staff


Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Dan Walters
columnist
dwalters@sacbee.com
@waltersbee

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert

Editor's Choice Videos