Approximately 4,000 inmate firefighters are manning the front lines against California's raging wildfires. Inmates in Cal Fire's program are risking their lives to work 24-hour shifts to save drought-stricken California while earning less than five dollars an hour and reduced time on their sentence. Jessica Koscielniak McClatchy
Approximately 4,000 inmate firefighters are manning the front lines against California's raging wildfires. Inmates in Cal Fire's program are risking their lives to work 24-hour shifts to save drought-stricken California while earning less than five dollars an hour and reduced time on their sentence. Jessica Koscielniak McClatchy
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Capitol Alert

October 12, 2015 7:32 PM

Violent offenders could join fire camps next year

Suggested for you

Comments

Capitol Alert staff


Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Dan Walters
columnist
dwalters@sacbee.com
@waltersbee

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert

Editor's Choice Videos