Freshman Assembly member Patty Lopez, D-San Fernando, left, helps her mother, Maria de Jesus, with her hair before the start of the Assembly session on Dec. 1, 2014. Lopez defeated incumbent Raul Bocanegra, D-Los Angeles by 466 votes.
Freshman Assembly member Patty Lopez, D-San Fernando, left, helps her mother, Maria de Jesus, with her hair before the start of the Assembly session on Dec. 1, 2014. Lopez defeated incumbent Raul Bocanegra, D-Los Angeles by 466 votes. Rich Pedroncelli AP
Freshman Assembly member Patty Lopez, D-San Fernando, left, helps her mother, Maria de Jesus, with her hair before the start of the Assembly session on Dec. 1, 2014. Lopez defeated incumbent Raul Bocanegra, D-Los Angeles by 466 votes. Rich Pedroncelli AP
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Map: Patty Lopez carried dozens of precincts on way to surprise Assembly win

December 09, 2014 03:12 PM

Comments

More Videos

  • ‘We know there are mountains behind that line of smog,’ Cristina Garcia says

    Assemblywoman Cristina Garcia talks about her environmental record at UN climate discussions in Bonn, Germany, on Saturday, Nov. 11, 2017.

Advertising



Catherine Bettar
916-321-1083
cbettar@sacbee.com

Capitol Alert staff



Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
Lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert