Los Angeles, whose downtown is shown in this 2014 photo, is the largest of 77 California cities declared to be “economically challenged” in a new study, more than a quarter of the nation’s cities in that condition. They are marked by low incomes and high unemployment and poverty rates.
Los Angeles, whose downtown is shown in this 2014 photo, is the largest of 77 California cities declared to be “economically challenged” in a new study, more than a quarter of the nation’s cities in that condition. They are marked by low incomes and high unemployment and poverty rates. MONICA ALMEIDA NYT
Los Angeles, whose downtown is shown in this 2014 photo, is the largest of 77 California cities declared to be “economically challenged” in a new study, more than a quarter of the nation’s cities in that condition. They are marked by low incomes and high unemployment and poverty rates. MONICA ALMEIDA NYT
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Capitol Alert

November 18, 2015 1:28 PM

77 California cities on ‘economically challenged’ list

Suggested for you

Comments

Videos

Capitol Alert staff


Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Dan Walters
columnist
dwalters@sacbee.com
@waltersbee

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert

Editor's Choice Videos