In May 2006, Assembly Speaker Fabian Nuñez, Assembly Republican Leader, George Plescia, Senate Republican Leader Dick Ackerman and Senate Pro Tem, Don Perata, meet before the Legislature voted on a $35 billion public-works bond package. State and local governments have sold $1.5 trillion in debt since the mid-1980s, according to new data from the state treasurer’s office.
In May 2006, Assembly Speaker Fabian Nuñez, Assembly Republican Leader, George Plescia, Senate Republican Leader Dick Ackerman and Senate Pro Tem, Don Perata, meet before the Legislature voted on a $35 billion public-works bond package. State and local governments have sold $1.5 trillion in debt since the mid-1980s, according to new data from the state treasurer’s office. Brian Baer Sacramento Bee Staff Photo
In May 2006, Assembly Speaker Fabian Nuñez, Assembly Republican Leader, George Plescia, Senate Republican Leader Dick Ackerman and Senate Pro Tem, Don Perata, meet before the Legislature voted on a $35 billion public-works bond package. State and local governments have sold $1.5 trillion in debt since the mid-1980s, according to new data from the state treasurer’s office. Brian Baer Sacramento Bee Staff Photo
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Big government borrowing means payback time – someday

November 20, 2015 12:00 PM

Comments

More Videos

  • California candidates for governor differ on universal health care

    Four leading Democratic candidates for California governor debated health care at a forum hosted by the National Union of Healthcare Workers in Anaheim on Oct. 22, 2017.

Advertising



Catherine Bettar
916-321-1083
cbettar@sacbee.com

Capitol Alert staff



Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
Lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert