Louisiana gubernatorial candidate Sen. David Vitter, R-La., center, and his wife Wendy, left, are comforted by their supporters after announcing his defeat at his election night watch party in Kenner, La., Saturday. Vitter said he is not going to run again for the U.S. Senate after losing in an upset race for governor to Democrat John Bel Edwards.
Louisiana gubernatorial candidate Sen. David Vitter, R-La., center, and his wife Wendy, left, are comforted by their supporters after announcing his defeat at his election night watch party in Kenner, La., Saturday. Vitter said he is not going to run again for the U.S. Senate after losing in an upset race for governor to Democrat John Bel Edwards. Max Becherer AP
Louisiana gubernatorial candidate Sen. David Vitter, R-La., center, and his wife Wendy, left, are comforted by their supporters after announcing his defeat at his election night watch party in Kenner, La., Saturday. Vitter said he is not going to run again for the U.S. Senate after losing in an upset race for governor to Democrat John Bel Edwards. Max Becherer AP
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Capitol Alert

California GOP consultant Rob Stutzman helped sink Vitter in Louisiana

November 24, 2015 11:16 AM

Comments

Videos

Advertising

Catherine Bettar
916-321-1083
cbettar@sacbee.com

Capitol Alert staff


Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert