Jeffrey Beard, secretary of the California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation, has announced he plans to retire.
Jeffrey Beard, secretary of the California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation, has announced he plans to retire. Rich Pedroncelli AP
Jeffrey Beard, secretary of the California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation, has announced he plans to retire. Rich Pedroncelli AP
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

California prison chief to leave

December 03, 2015 03:48 PM

UPDATED December 03, 2015 08:07 PM

Comments

More Videos

  • ‘We know there are mountains behind that line of smog,’ Cristina Garcia says

    Assemblywoman Cristina Garcia talks about her environmental record at UN climate discussions in Bonn, Germany, on Saturday, Nov. 11, 2017.

Advertising



Catherine Bettar
916-321-1083
cbettar@sacbee.com

Capitol Alert staff



Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
Lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert