Assemblyman Anthony Rendon of Lakewood, right, gets a fist bump from Sen. Isadore Hall of Compton before his election as the next Assembly speaker on Monday, Jan. 11, 2016. Hall is running for Congress and has been endorsed by Rendon.
Assemblyman Anthony Rendon of Lakewood, right, gets a fist bump from Sen. Isadore Hall of Compton before his election as the next Assembly speaker on Monday, Jan. 11, 2016. Hall is running for Congress and has been endorsed by Rendon. Rich Pedroncelli The Associated Press
Assemblyman Anthony Rendon of Lakewood, right, gets a fist bump from Sen. Isadore Hall of Compton before his election as the next Assembly speaker on Monday, Jan. 11, 2016. Hall is running for Congress and has been endorsed by Rendon. Rich Pedroncelli The Associated Press
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Race, ethnicity inject tension into California campaigns

January 16, 2016 10:00 AM

UPDATED January 17, 2016 02:55 PM

Comments

More Videos

  • ‘We know there are mountains behind that line of smog,’ Cristina Garcia says

    Assemblywoman Cristina Garcia talks about her environmental record at UN climate discussions in Bonn, Germany, on Saturday, Nov. 11, 2017.

Advertising



Catherine Bettar
916-321-1083
cbettar@sacbee.com

Capitol Alert staff



Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
Lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert