More Videos

Transgender rights are 'not a federal government issue' 0:50

Transgender rights are 'not a federal government issue'

Bernie Sanders makes 2016 push for drug-pricing measure 1:09

Bernie Sanders makes 2016 push for drug-pricing measure

'If we don't get started...we will have more than a crisis on our hands' 1:09

'If we don't get started...we will have more than a crisis on our hands'

'We know that this is just a start,' Assembly speaker says of housing bills 0:58

'We know that this is just a start,' Assembly speaker says of housing bills

Here's how California's sanctuary state bill works 1:26

Here's how California's sanctuary state bill works

Nancy Pelosi confronted by immigration activist at news conference in California 1:00

Nancy Pelosi confronted by immigration activist at news conference in California

Dreamer: 'We have had to change our hopes for fears.' 1:12

Dreamer: 'We have had to change our hopes for fears.'

6 things about Calexit – the plan for California to secede from the U.S. 1:34

6 things about Calexit – the plan for California to secede from the U.S.

What happens to your brain on opioids 2:44

What happens to your brain on opioids

Calexit? Activist group pushes California secession plan 0:40

Calexit? Activist group pushes California secession plan

  • Video: California youth, allies rally for 16-year-old voting rights

    Advocates trumpet letting 16-and-17-year-olds vote in school board elections during a Feb. 11, 2016 rally in Sacramento. The bill died in committee, but a new measure would allow 17-year-olds to vote in all state elections.

Advocates trumpet letting 16-and-17-year-olds vote in school board elections during a Feb. 11, 2016 rally in Sacramento. The bill died in committee, but a new measure would allow 17-year-olds to vote in all state elections. Jeremy B. White jwhite@sacbee.com
Advocates trumpet letting 16-and-17-year-olds vote in school board elections during a Feb. 11, 2016 rally in Sacramento. The bill died in committee, but a new measure would allow 17-year-olds to vote in all state elections. Jeremy B. White jwhite@sacbee.com
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Could California’s 16-year-olds be casting ballots?

February 10, 2016 2:24 PM

Comments

Advertising

Catherine Bettar
916-321-1083
cbettar@sacbee.com

Capitol Alert staff


Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert