Miss Lady, a former sex worker in Sacramento is trying to better herself. She attends college and would like to start a nonprofit to help girls off the street. "Some of them are scared to death to leave their pimp." State lawmakers have considered measures to confront human trafficking, and pondering whether prostitutes are criminals or victims. José Luis Villegas The Sacramento Bee​
Miss Lady, a former sex worker in Sacramento is trying to better herself. She attends college and would like to start a nonprofit to help girls off the street. "Some of them are scared to death to leave their pimp." State lawmakers have considered measures to confront human trafficking, and pondering whether prostitutes are criminals or victims. José Luis Villegas The Sacramento Bee​
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Capitol Alert

February 28, 2016 7:20 AM

California ponders whether prostitutes are criminals or victims

Suggested for you

Comments

Videos

Capitol Alert staff


Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Dan Walters
columnist
dwalters@sacbee.com
@waltersbee

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert

Editor's Choice Videos