In 2015, K to College sought a $7.5 million budget allocation to start a new state program providing basic supplies to homeless schoolchildren. Some advocates questioned whether that should be a priority. The group was previously successful in establishing a checkoff on California tax forms that has benefited its efforts. Video by Alexi Koseff akoseff@sacbee.com; illustration by Nathaniel Levine nlevine@sacbee
In 2015, K to College sought a $7.5 million budget allocation to start a new state program providing basic supplies to homeless schoolchildren. Some advocates questioned whether that should be a priority. The group was previously successful in establishing a checkoff on California tax forms that has benefited its efforts. Video by Alexi Koseff akoseff@sacbee.com; illustration by Nathaniel Levine nlevine@sacbee
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Capitol Alert

Road to California tax checkoff paved by legislative connections

March 21, 2016 5:36 PM

Comments

Videos

Advertising

Catherine Bettar
916-321-1083
cbettar@sacbee.com

Capitol Alert staff


Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert