Assembly Speaker Toni Atkins, D-San Diego, talks with reporters after speaking at the 2015 California Women's Policy Summit in Sacramento on Wednesday, Jan. 14, 2015. Recalling her upbringing in Appalachia, Atkins told the gathering of women advocates that social services helped her rise out of poverty.
Assembly Speaker Toni Atkins, D-San Diego, talks with reporters after speaking at the 2015 California Women's Policy Summit in Sacramento on Wednesday, Jan. 14, 2015. Recalling her upbringing in Appalachia, Atkins told the gathering of women advocates that social services helped her rise out of poverty. Rich Pedroncelli AP
Assembly Speaker Toni Atkins, D-San Diego, talks with reporters after speaking at the 2015 California Women's Policy Summit in Sacramento on Wednesday, Jan. 14, 2015. Recalling her upbringing in Appalachia, Atkins told the gathering of women advocates that social services helped her rise out of poverty. Rich Pedroncelli AP
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Interactive: Poverty rates by California legislative district

January 15, 2015 11:30 PM

UPDATED January 16, 2015 11:36 AM

Comments

More Videos

  • ‘We know there are mountains behind that line of smog,’ Cristina Garcia says

    Assemblywoman Cristina Garcia talks about her environmental record at UN climate discussions in Bonn, Germany, on Saturday, Nov. 11, 2017.

Advertising



Catherine Bettar
916-321-1083
cbettar@sacbee.com

Capitol Alert staff



Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
Lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert