This 1978 file photo shows actor John Wayne wearing a brown plaid coat he wore in 1945's "Flame of Barbary Coast." Last year, Texas proclaimed May 26, Wayne’s birthday, as “John Wayne Day” but on Thursday, the California Assembly refused to do the same.
This 1978 file photo shows actor John Wayne wearing a brown plaid coat he wore in 1945's "Flame of Barbary Coast." Last year, Texas proclaimed May 26, Wayne’s birthday, as “John Wayne Day” but on Thursday, the California Assembly refused to do the same. AP
This 1978 file photo shows actor John Wayne wearing a brown plaid coat he wore in 1945's "Flame of Barbary Coast." Last year, Texas proclaimed May 26, Wayne’s birthday, as “John Wayne Day” but on Thursday, the California Assembly refused to do the same. AP
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Capitol Alert

April 28, 2016 12:08 PM

California Assembly rejects resolution honoring John Wayne

Suggested for you

Comments

Videos

Capitol Alert staff


Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Dan Walters
columnist
dwalters@sacbee.com
@waltersbee

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert

Editor's Choice Videos