More Videos

Chad Mayes responds to failed vote to oust him as Assembly GOP leader 0:46

Chad Mayes responds to failed vote to oust him as Assembly GOP leader

6 things about Calexit – the plan for California to secede from the U.S. 1:34

6 things about Calexit – the plan for California to secede from the U.S.

Calexit? Activist group pushes California secession plan 0:40

Calexit? Activist group pushes California secession plan

California new housing shortage on par with 'shrinking rust belt cities' 1:33

California new housing shortage on par with 'shrinking rust belt cities'

Packed crowd turns out for Imagine Justice Concert 0:58

Packed crowd turns out for Imagine Justice Concert

SC State House crowds cheer solar eclipse 1:02

SC State House crowds cheer solar eclipse

ECLIPSE 2017: The view from SC State Museum in Columbia 1:58

ECLIPSE 2017: The view from SC State Museum in Columbia

Watching the eclipse in Charlotte 0:49

Watching the eclipse in Charlotte

Eclipse viewers use glasses, homemade gadgets 1:26

Eclipse viewers use glasses, homemade gadgets

Watch very determined thieves use forklift to crash bank, steal ATM 0:33

Watch very determined thieves use forklift to crash bank, steal ATM

  • Kamala Harris defends her 'smart on crime' approach

    Kamala Harris, a Democrat running for U.S. Senate, defended her work as state attorney general on crime in a debate on Monday, April 25 at the University of the Pacific.

Kamala Harris, a Democrat running for U.S. Senate, defended her work as state attorney general on crime in a debate on Monday, April 25 at the University of the Pacific.
Kamala Harris, a Democrat running for U.S. Senate, defended her work as state attorney general on crime in a debate on Monday, April 25 at the University of the Pacific.
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Kamala Harris picks her fights as criminal justice crusader

May 01, 2016 10:53 AM

Comments

Advertising

Catherine Bettar
916-321-1083
cbettar@sacbee.com

Capitol Alert staff


Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert