Kari Holloway, 40, left, and Julia Chandler, 56, live in Mutual Housing at the Highlands in North Highlands. All the residents have been homeless; they receive affordable housing and supportive services.
Kari Holloway, 40, left, and Julia Chandler, 56, live in Mutual Housing at the Highlands in North Highlands. All the residents have been homeless; they receive affordable housing and supportive services. José Luis Villegas jvillegas@sacbee.com
Kari Holloway, 40, left, and Julia Chandler, 56, live in Mutual Housing at the Highlands in North Highlands. All the residents have been homeless; they receive affordable housing and supportive services. José Luis Villegas jvillegas@sacbee.com
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Can’t afford housing? California leaders are working on it

June 06, 2016 06:00 AM

UPDATED June 06, 2016 03:44 PM

Comments

More Videos

‘We know there are mountains behind that line of smog,’ Cristina Garcia says 1:23

‘We know there are mountains behind that line of smog,’ Cristina Garcia says

World needs to get off coal, Jerry Brown says 0:21

World needs to get off coal, Jerry Brown says

A look at the #MeToo movement inside California's Capitol 1:19

A look at the #MeToo movement inside California's Capitol

See how sea-level rise could affect the San Francisco Bay Area 0:52

See how sea-level rise could affect the San Francisco Bay Area

How does an officer recognize a stoned driver? 0:44

How does an officer recognize a stoned driver?

See how much California's gas tax will rise through 2020 2:11

See how much California's gas tax will rise through 2020

How much weed can you carry now that California has legalized marijuana? You might be surprised 1:49

How much weed can you carry now that California has legalized marijuana? You might be surprised

Trump: Kneeling during national anthem 'disgraceful' 1:23

Trump: Kneeling during national anthem 'disgraceful'

California's public pension crisis is bad and getting worse 1:45

California's public pension crisis is bad and getting worse

Jerry Brown is bringing guest books to California 2:31

Jerry Brown is bringing guest books to California

  • ‘We know there are mountains behind that line of smog,’ Cristina Garcia says

    Assemblywoman Cristina Garcia talks about her environmental record at UN climate discussions in Bonn, Germany, on Saturday, Nov. 11, 2017.

Advertising



Catherine Bettar
916-321-1083
cbettar@sacbee.com

Capitol Alert staff



Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
Lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert