More Videos

California's Chief Justice tells ICE to stay out of courtrooms 1:13

California's Chief Justice tells ICE to stay out of courtrooms

Where greenhouse gases come from 1:07

Where greenhouse gases come from

California new housing shortage on par with 'shrinking rust belt cities' 1:33

California new housing shortage on par with 'shrinking rust belt cities'

Calexit? Activist group pushes California secession plan 0:40

Calexit? Activist group pushes California secession plan

Trump rallies base in Arizona 2:53

Trump rallies base in Arizona

Placer County homeless increase in latest count 1:16

Placer County homeless increase in latest count

See recovery of high-end mountain bikes after arrest 0:39

See recovery of high-end mountain bikes after arrest

Unique home buying opportunities in little known Sacramento region neighborhoods 1:10

Unique home buying opportunities in little known Sacramento region neighborhoods

49ers Solomon Thomas: 'Whatever's best for the team, I'll be there' 1:05

49ers Solomon Thomas: 'Whatever's best for the team, I'll be there'

Meet 25 Sacramento-area high school football senior stars 2:02

Meet 25 Sacramento-area high school football senior stars

  • How do California's new tobacco laws affect you?

    Gov. Jerry Brown has signed California's most significant new tobacco legislation in decades.

Gov. Jerry Brown has signed California's most significant new tobacco legislation in decades. Alexei Koseff The Sacramento Bee
Gov. Jerry Brown has signed California's most significant new tobacco legislation in decades. Alexei Koseff The Sacramento Bee
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

California tobacco tax measure targets an industry under pressure

June 20, 2016 6:00 AM

Comments

Advertising

Catherine Bettar
916-321-1083
cbettar@sacbee.com

Capitol Alert staff


Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert