A confiscated cell phone photographed in 2010 at the California Correctional Training Center in Galt. The California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation is in the process of reducing the penalty for inmates found with cell phone accessories such as chargers.
A confiscated cell phone photographed in 2010 at the California Correctional Training Center in Galt. The California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation is in the process of reducing the penalty for inmates found with cell phone accessories such as chargers. Carl Costas ccostas@sacbee.com
A confiscated cell phone photographed in 2010 at the California Correctional Training Center in Galt. The California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation is in the process of reducing the penalty for inmates found with cell phone accessories such as chargers. Carl Costas ccostas@sacbee.com
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Lawsuit prompts California to reduce some cellphone prison penalties

August 12, 2016 10:03 AM

UPDATED August 14, 2016 07:56 AM

Comments

More Videos

‘We know there are mountains behind that line of smog,’ Cristina Garcia says 1:23

‘We know there are mountains behind that line of smog,’ Cristina Garcia says

A look at the #MeToo movement inside California's Capitol 1:19

A look at the #MeToo movement inside California's Capitol

World needs to get off coal, Jerry Brown says 0:21

World needs to get off coal, Jerry Brown says

Trump: Kneeling during national anthem 'disgraceful' 1:23

Trump: Kneeling during national anthem 'disgraceful'

Taking a knee: How Colin Kaepernick started an NFL movement 3:18

Taking a knee: How Colin Kaepernick started an NFL movement

See how much California's gas tax will rise through 2020 2:11

See how much California's gas tax will rise through 2020

'Don't wait for them. You lead' on health care, nurses' leader tells rally 1:38

'Don't wait for them. You lead' on health care, nurses' leader tells rally

Protesters disrupt Republican Congressman Tom McClintock town hall 1:23

Protesters disrupt Republican Congressman Tom McClintock town hall

California's public pension crisis is bad and getting worse 1:45

California's public pension crisis is bad and getting worse

See how sea-level rise could affect the San Francisco Bay Area 0:52

See how sea-level rise could affect the San Francisco Bay Area

  • ‘We know there are mountains behind that line of smog,’ Cristina Garcia says

    Assemblywoman Cristina Garcia talks about her environmental record at UN climate discussions in Bonn, Germany, on Saturday, Nov. 11, 2017.

Advertising



Catherine Bettar
916-321-1083
cbettar@sacbee.com

Capitol Alert staff



Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
Lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert