A confiscated cell phone photographed in 2010 at the California Correctional Training Center in Galt. The California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation is in the process of reducing the penalty for inmates found with cell phone accessories such as chargers.
A confiscated cell phone photographed in 2010 at the California Correctional Training Center in Galt. The California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation is in the process of reducing the penalty for inmates found with cell phone accessories such as chargers. Carl Costas ccostas@sacbee.com
A confiscated cell phone photographed in 2010 at the California Correctional Training Center in Galt. The California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation is in the process of reducing the penalty for inmates found with cell phone accessories such as chargers. Carl Costas ccostas@sacbee.com
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Capitol Alert

August 12, 2016 10:03 AM

Lawsuit prompts California to reduce some cellphone prison penalties

Comments

Videos

Capitol Alert staff


Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Dan Walters
columnist
dwalters@sacbee.com
@waltersbee

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert