Babulal Bera, the father of Democratic Rep. Ami Bera, leaves the federal courthouse on May 10 with his attorney, Edward Loya Jr., right. The elder Bera is scheduled to be sentenced in federal court Thursday for two counts of campaign finance violations.
Babulal Bera, the father of Democratic Rep. Ami Bera, leaves the federal courthouse on May 10 with his attorney, Edward Loya Jr., right. The elder Bera is scheduled to be sentenced in federal court Thursday for two counts of campaign finance violations. Randy Pench rpench@sacbee.com
Babulal Bera, the father of Democratic Rep. Ami Bera, leaves the federal courthouse on May 10 with his attorney, Edward Loya Jr., right. The elder Bera is scheduled to be sentenced in federal court Thursday for two counts of campaign finance violations. Randy Pench rpench@sacbee.com
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Will congressman’s father, who lived an American dream, go to prison at 83?

August 13, 2016 06:00 AM

UPDATED August 14, 2016 07:53 AM

Comments

More Videos

‘We know there are mountains behind that line of smog,’ Cristina Garcia says 1:23

‘We know there are mountains behind that line of smog,’ Cristina Garcia says

A look at the #MeToo movement inside California's Capitol 1:19

A look at the #MeToo movement inside California's Capitol

World needs to get off coal, Jerry Brown says 0:21

World needs to get off coal, Jerry Brown says

Criminal justice initiatives went too far, Sacramento County DA says 0:51

Criminal justice initiatives went too far, Sacramento County DA says

Explaining California's new assault weapon ban 1:08

Explaining California's new assault weapon ban

Public videos promote tax programs, Treasurer John Chiang 1:40

Public videos promote tax programs, Treasurer John Chiang

Why California students need debt-free college 1:18

Why California students need debt-free college

Sexual assault survivors talk about speaking out at MeToo March in Hollywood 1:06

Sexual assault survivors talk about speaking out at MeToo March in Hollywood

‘How do they get past that’ after Rancho Tehama elementary school shooting? 0:40

‘How do they get past that’ after Rancho Tehama elementary school shooting?

Watch Sacramento Black Lives Matter protest removal Oak Park mural 1:13

Watch Sacramento Black Lives Matter protest removal Oak Park mural

  • ‘We know there are mountains behind that line of smog,’ Cristina Garcia says

    Assemblywoman Cristina Garcia talks about her environmental record at UN climate discussions in Bonn, Germany, on Saturday, Nov. 11, 2017.

Advertising



Catherine Bettar
916-321-1083
cbettar@sacbee.com

Capitol Alert staff



Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
Lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert