Local Elections

Sacramento County election results: Ly wins Elk Grove mayor’s race

Carmine Forcina, left, raises the hand of Elk Grove mayor-elect Steve Ly at an election returns party.
Carmine Forcina, left, raises the hand of Elk Grove mayor-elect Steve Ly at an election returns party. rbenton@sacbee.com

In Sacramento County, the action Tuesday night was in the suburbs after the city of Sacramento exhausted most its election fireworks in June.

Citrus Heights Councilwoman Sue Frost defeated Folsom businessman Mike Kozlowski in a battle between two Republicans to represent District 4. The district remains the only one among five in the county where registered Republicans outnumber Democrats, stretching across Citrus Heights, Orangevale and Folsom.

Frost won convincingly 55 percent to 45 percent over political newcomer Kozlowski, who was backed by developers.

OTHER LOCAL RESULTS: El Dorado CountyPlacer County Yolo County

Elk Grove

The south county city of 160,000 saw a flurry of political activity, with an open race for mayor and two City Council seats (not to mention a divisive congressional race between Rep. Ami Bera and Sacramento County Sheriff Scott Jones).

Elk Grove Councilman Steve Ly won the mayor’s race by a large margin over planning commissioner Kevin Spease and five other opponents. Ly and Spease raised most of the money and attracted the major endorsements in the race to replace Mayor Gary Davis, who is stepping down.

Incumbents Steve Detrick and Darren Suen won re-election to the City Council by large margins.

Detrick survived some last-minute heat from businesswoman Maureen Craft, who sent mailers in the final week noting his political ethics transgressions. The Fair Political Practices Commission announced on Friday that Detrick had agreed to settle another violation for $3,500.


Voters narrowly rejected the half-percentage point transportation sales tax Measure B, which would have raised an estimated $3.6 billion over 30 years to finance major fixes and upgrades throughout the county, starting with filling potholes and repaving rutted streets.

A $75 annual parcel tax proposed for Sacramento City Unified property owners was falling short of the necessary two-thirds vote for passage. Measure G had 65 percent support after last night’s election tally, though additional mail and provisional ballots remain uncounted.

Property owners in the Elk Grove Unified and San Juan Unified school districts will pay higher property taxes. Under Elk Grove’s Measure M, property owners pay $38 per $100,000 of assessed value annually; under San Juan’s Measure P, property owners pay $60 per $100,000 of assessed value.


Incumbents continued their win streak, with Councilmen Ernie Sheldon and Jeff Starsky extending their time on the Folsom City Council. Roger Gaylord III was third in the at-large election for two seats with 21 percent of the vote.

Natomas Unified

Natomas trustees Susan Heredia and Scott Dosick retained their seats and will be joined by newcomer Micah Grant.

Citrus Heights City Council

Incumbents Bret Daniels and Jeff Slowey won re-election in a field of eight candidates vying for two seats. Planning commissioner Rick Doyle was third with 15 percent of the vote, shy of Daniels’ 18 percent.

Rancho Cordova City Council

Incumbents David Sander, Donald Terry and Robert McGarvey cruised to re-election. Kevin E. Johnson was fourth with 15 percent of the vote.


The lone city of Sacramento contest had to do with how the city draws its political boundaries. Sacramento voters agreed to give that task to an independent commission rather than allow City Council members to craft their own districts. Under Measure L, a commission will draw council districts after the 2020 census.

Kevin Yamamura: 916-326-5548, @kyamamura