Sen. Ricardo Lara, D-Bell Gardens, urges passage of SB 582, a measure aimed at establishing a new universal health care system in California. Instead of private insurers, state government would be the “single payer” for everyone’s health care through a new taxing structure. Angela Hart The Sacramento Bee
Sen. Ricardo Lara, D-Bell Gardens, urges passage of SB 582, a measure aimed at establishing a new universal health care system in California. Instead of private insurers, state government would be the “single payer” for everyone’s health care through a new taxing structure. Angela Hart The Sacramento Bee
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Capitol Alert

Why are California liberals pushing so hard to get rid of health insurance?

June 07, 2017 12:01 AM

Comments

Videos

Advertising

Catherine Bettar
916-321-1083
cbettar@sacbee.com

Capitol Alert staff


Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert