More Videos

Two men die in tandem skydiving accident near Lodi 0:22

Two men die in tandem skydiving accident near Lodi

'Run, Bernie, run,' San Francisco crowd chants 0:21

'Run, Bernie, run,' San Francisco crowd chants

Bernie Sanders thanks John McCain on health care in San Francisco 1:07

Bernie Sanders thanks John McCain on health care in San Francisco

California electors want investigation into Russian hacking 1:45

California electors want investigation into Russian hacking

Gavin Newsom: 'No reason to wait around' on universal health care in California 1:02

Gavin Newsom: 'No reason to wait around' on universal health care in California

Bernie Sanders makes 2016 push for drug-pricing measure 1:09

Bernie Sanders makes 2016 push for drug-pricing measure

Bernie Sanders supporters urge 2020 presidential run 1:38

Bernie Sanders supporters urge 2020 presidential run

Protesters disrupt Republican Congressman Tom McClintock town hall 1:23

Protesters disrupt Republican Congressman Tom McClintock town hall

Packed crowd turns out for Imagine Justice Concert 0:58

Packed crowd turns out for Imagine Justice Concert

'If we don't get started...we will have more than a crisis on our hands' 1:09

'If we don't get started...we will have more than a crisis on our hands'

  • Josh Newman vows to beat recall attempt: 'We are not giving this seat back'

    Sen. Josh Newman arrived on stage in a bear costume at the California Democratic Convention in May, then described how surprised he was to learn his vote for a gas tax increase had prompted a recall effort. Video courtesy of California Democratic Party.

Sen. Josh Newman arrived on stage in a bear costume at the California Democratic Convention in May, then described how surprised he was to learn his vote for a gas tax increase had prompted a recall effort. Video courtesy of California Democratic Party. Hawken Miller The Sacramento Bee
Sen. Josh Newman arrived on stage in a bear costume at the California Democratic Convention in May, then described how surprised he was to learn his vote for a gas tax increase had prompted a recall effort. Video courtesy of California Democratic Party. Hawken Miller The Sacramento Bee
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

California Democrats out to reverse another election rule to help one of their own

July 05, 2017 12:01 AM

Comments

Advertising

Catherine Bettar
916-321-1083
cbettar@sacbee.com

Capitol Alert staff


Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert