More Videos

'Run, Bernie, run,' San Francisco crowd chants 0:21

'Run, Bernie, run,' San Francisco crowd chants

Two men die in tandem skydiving accident near Lodi 0:22

Two men die in tandem skydiving accident near Lodi

California Nurses Association protests shelving of single-payer health care bill 1:27

California Nurses Association protests shelving of single-payer health care bill

'If we don't get started...we will have more than a crisis on our hands' 1:09

'If we don't get started...we will have more than a crisis on our hands'

'We know that this is just a start,' Assembly speaker says of housing bills 0:58

'We know that this is just a start,' Assembly speaker says of housing bills

Take a look inside Floyd Mayweather's new $25.5 million Beverly Hills mansion 0:42

Take a look inside Floyd Mayweather's new $25.5 million Beverly Hills mansion

More NFL players sit, take a knee following Trump criticism 1:44

More NFL players sit, take a knee following Trump criticism

Parents share challenges they face with children who have rare genetic mutation 2:25

Parents share challenges they face with children who have rare genetic mutation

Trump says any NFL player who sits during anthem is 'son of a bitch' and should be fired 0:51

Trump says any NFL player who sits during anthem is 'son of a bitch' and should be fired

Video leads to arrest of burglary suspect 0:31

Video leads to arrest of burglary suspect

  • Here's how California's sanctuary state bill works

    Senate Bill 54 would allow state authorities to refuse cooperation with some federal immigration laws. Here's how it would work.

Senate Bill 54 would allow state authorities to refuse cooperation with some federal immigration laws. Here's how it would work. Video produced by Hawken Miller
Senate Bill 54 would allow state authorities to refuse cooperation with some federal immigration laws. Here's how it would work. Video produced by Hawken Miller
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

California will soon be a ‘sanctuary state’ for undocumented immigrants

September 16, 2017 1:44 AM

Comments

Advertising

Catherine Bettar
916-321-1083
cbettar@sacbee.com

Capitol Alert staff


Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert