Gary Crain of Folsom fires a rifle at the Cordova Shooting Center in June in Rancho Cordova. A bill on Gov. Jerry Brown’s desk would prohibit openly carrying long guns such as rifles in unincorporated areas where county supervisors already have banned shooting. Gun ranges would be exempt.
Gary Crain of Folsom fires a rifle at the Cordova Shooting Center in June in Rancho Cordova. A bill on Gov. Jerry Brown’s desk would prohibit openly carrying long guns such as rifles in unincorporated areas where county supervisors already have banned shooting. Gun ranges would be exempt. Randy Pench rpench@sacbee.com
Gary Crain of Folsom fires a rifle at the Cordova Shooting Center in June in Rancho Cordova. A bill on Gov. Jerry Brown’s desk would prohibit openly carrying long guns such as rifles in unincorporated areas where county supervisors already have banned shooting. Gun ranges would be exempt. Randy Pench rpench@sacbee.com
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Is bill on governor’s desk a ‘nail in the coffin’ to openly carrying guns?

September 29, 2017 11:40 AM

Comments

More Videos

'What are we going to do with people who no longer have a home?' 1:19

'What are we going to do with people who no longer have a home?'

A look at widespread fire devastation in Santa Rosa 3:27

A look at widespread fire devastation in Santa Rosa

See some of the more than half a million #MeToo posts that have taken over Twitter 0:56

See some of the more than half a million #MeToo posts that have taken over Twitter

See which top-selling cars spew the most and least carbon 2:13

See which top-selling cars spew the most and least carbon

Placer County homeless increase in latest count 1:16

Placer County homeless increase in latest count

'If we don't get started...we will have more than a crisis on our hands' 1:09

'If we don't get started...we will have more than a crisis on our hands'

Where greenhouse gases come from 1:07

Where greenhouse gases come from

Banned books that shaped American literature 2:08

Banned books that shaped American literature

How much exercise do you need? 1:03

How much exercise do you need?

Vince Carter is ready for his 20th NBA season 3:48

Vince Carter is ready for his 20th NBA season

  • 'What are we going to do with people who no longer have a home?'

    Ana Lugo, president of housing advocacy group North Bay Organizing Project, said on Oct. 14, 2017 that many of those displaced by the Wine Country fires need housing and protection.

Advertising



Catherine Bettar
916-321-1083
cbettar@sacbee.com

Capitol Alert staff



Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
Lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert