Sen. Bill Monning, D-Carmel, left, is the author of legislation to reverse mandatory minimum jail sentences for prostitution.
Sen. Bill Monning, D-Carmel, left, is the author of legislation to reverse mandatory minimum jail sentences for prostitution. Hector Amezcua The Sacramento Bee file
Sen. Bill Monning, D-Carmel, left, is the author of legislation to reverse mandatory minimum jail sentences for prostitution. Hector Amezcua The Sacramento Bee file
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

California Senate votes to remove mandatory jail for prostitution

May 02, 2016 5:08 PM

Comments

More Videos

California candidates for governor differ on universal health care 2:47

California candidates for governor differ on universal health care

Kevin McCarthy denounces Iran nuclear deal 0:40

Kevin McCarthy denounces Iran nuclear deal

'What are we going to do with people who no longer have a home?' 1:19

'What are we going to do with people who no longer have a home?'

Bannon tells California Republicans that nothing is more important than winning 0:54

Bannon tells California Republicans that nothing is more important than winning

'Run, Bernie, run,' San Francisco crowd chants 0:21

'Run, Bernie, run,' San Francisco crowd chants

Here's how California's sanctuary state bill works 1:26

Here's how California's sanctuary state bill works

'We know that this is just a start,' Assembly speaker says of housing bills 0:58

'We know that this is just a start,' Assembly speaker says of housing bills

A look at widespread fire devastation in Santa Rosa 3:27

A look at widespread fire devastation in Santa Rosa

Unique home buying opportunities in little known Sacramento region neighborhoods 1:10

Unique home buying opportunities in little known Sacramento region neighborhoods

49ers executive John McVay on Dwight Clark 1:14

49ers executive John McVay on Dwight Clark

  • California candidates for governor differ on universal health care

    Four leading Democratic candidates for California governor debated health care at a forum hosted by the National Union of Healthcare Workers in Anaheim on Oct. 22, 2017.

Advertising



Catherine Bettar
916-321-1083
cbettar@sacbee.com

Capitol Alert staff



Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
Lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert