State Senate President Pro Tem Kevin de León urges lawmakers to approve his gun control bill on May 19, 2016.
State Senate President Pro Tem Kevin de León urges lawmakers to approve his gun control bill on May 19, 2016. Rich Pedroncelli The Associated Press
State Senate President Pro Tem Kevin de León urges lawmakers to approve his gun control bill on May 19, 2016. Rich Pedroncelli The Associated Press
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

California Senate approves broad new gun restrictions

May 19, 2016 2:19 PM

Comments

More Videos

'What are we going to do with people who no longer have a home?' 1:19

'What are we going to do with people who no longer have a home?'

A look at widespread fire devastation in Santa Rosa 3:27

A look at widespread fire devastation in Santa Rosa

This Bay area activist says safe, affordable drinking water is a rural community's right 1:01

This Bay area activist says safe, affordable drinking water is a rural community's right

6 things about Calexit – the plan for California to secede from the U.S. 1:34

6 things about Calexit – the plan for California to secede from the U.S.

Views of the Bear Creek Fire in Santa Cruz Mountains 0:44

Views of the Bear Creek Fire in Santa Cruz Mountains

Employee arrives at Santa Rosa country club to witness devastation 2:02

Employee arrives at Santa Rosa country club to witness devastation

Digging through the ashes near Coffey Park 1:24

Digging through the ashes near Coffey Park

Why Mike Pereira thinks 49ers, 'best 0-6 team in history,' are getting a raw deal 1:41

Why Mike Pereira thinks 49ers, 'best 0-6 team in history,' are getting a raw deal

Recreational weed is now legal in California. So what does that mean? 1:14

Recreational weed is now legal in California. So what does that mean?

Banned books that shaped American literature 2:08

Banned books that shaped American literature

  • 'What are we going to do with people who no longer have a home?'

    Ana Lugo, president of housing advocacy group North Bay Organizing Project, said on Oct. 14, 2017 that many of those displaced by the Wine Country fires need housing and protection.

Advertising



Catherine Bettar
916-321-1083
cbettar@sacbee.com

Capitol Alert staff



Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
Lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert