Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson greets his supporters during an election night watch party at the Citizen Hotel in Sacramento on Nov. 4, 2014.
Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson greets his supporters during an election night watch party at the Citizen Hotel in Sacramento on Nov. 4, 2014. Andrew Seng Aseng@sacbee.com
Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson greets his supporters during an election night watch party at the Citizen Hotel in Sacramento on Nov. 4, 2014. Andrew Seng Aseng@sacbee.com
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

As California Democrats party in Philly, state’s head teacher poised to lead Golden State

July 22, 2016 04:48 PM

UPDATED July 22, 2016 04:59 PM

Comments

More Videos

  • ‘We know there are mountains behind that line of smog,’ Cristina Garcia says

    Assemblywoman Cristina Garcia talks about her environmental record at UN climate discussions in Bonn, Germany, on Saturday, Nov. 11, 2017.

Advertising



Catherine Bettar
916-321-1083
cbettar@sacbee.com

Capitol Alert staff



Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
Lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert